Town Home
131 Cedar St - Newington, CT 06111 - Phone: (DEM) (860) 665-8516 & (REP) (860) 665-8517
Print Page
 

 Registrar of Voters


Election Results


Find Your Polling Place

 

 


 

 

 

PRIMARY INFORMATION

DEADLINES FOR PARTY CHANGES


You must be a registered Democrat or Republican in order to vote in the April 26th primary.  The State of Connecticut does not allow Unaffiliated Voters to vote in any primary.  The deadline for changing political parties for the April 26th Primary was January 26, 2016.  If you should change political parties now there is a 90 day waiting period and you will not be able to vote in the April 26th primary.  If you should change from Unaffiliated to a political party there is no waiting period and you can vote in the new party‚Äôs April 26th primary.  

REGISTRATION DEADLINES FOR NEW VOTERS:


PRIMARY: Your application must be postmarked by the 5th day before a primary (OR received by your Registrar of Voters or a voter registration agency by the 5th day before a primary).  You may apply in person to your town clerk or registrar until 12:00 noon on the last business day before a primary.

_______________________________________________________

 

CT VOTER REGISTRATION IS NOW AVAILABLE ON-LINE AT https://voterregistration.ct.gov/OLVR/

       ELECTION DAY REGISTRATION IS ALSO AVAILABLE FOR ELIGIBLE NEWINGTON RESIDENTS
For more information in these areas go to Frequently Asked Questions.

The Office of the Registrars of Voters is established and governed by the General Statutes of the State of Connecticut as they pertain to the Office of the Secretary of State and to the Election Enforcement and Infractions Division.

To be eligible to register to vote in Connecticut, a person must be:

U.S. citizen
A resident of a Connecticut town
At least 18 years old by Election Day

Those registering to vote in person are required to show identification. Acceptable forms of identification include anything with a name and address: a Connecticut driver's license, a utility bill, or even a checkbook. Those who register by mail must provide their Connecticut driver's license or the last four digits of their Social Security number on the voter registration form, which will be confirmed by the state's centralized voter registration system. This will avoid additional ID requirements for first-time voters in federal elections. First-time voters who register by mail in a federal election are subject to additional requirements.

The Registrars' Office is open Monday, Wednesday, and Friday from 8:00 A.M. to Noon and Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9:00 A.M to 3:00 P.M. when the Town Hall is open. At those times when the Registrars are not in the office, the Town Clerk can provide registration services.